Search - User list
Full Version: Set up an Old-Time Music group for jamming
Root » Discussion » Set up an Old-Time Music group for jamming
1 2
janhoward
Hi there,

I'd like to set up a group that could be used by Old-Time musicians (banjo, fiddle, guitar, bass, mandolin etc.).

Is this possible within Jammr?
Thanks
EdwardZ
Hello Jan, I would also like to participate in Old-Tyme style jams. I am very new to Jammr myself, but here are my first impressions about Jammr and also about connecting with similar minded musicians.
1. Setting up your musical instruments, sound hardware, computer hardware and software will be a challenge to the average person wondering about online jamming, in this site for example.
2. First hurdle is to achieve actual sound within a Jammr jam. Be aware right from the getgo, that if you will be using a microphone, you will absolutely need to mute loudspeakers and use Headphones.
3. Next hurdle is to listen and observe how a public jam proceeds. Be forwarned: lots of ‘newbies’ entering jams struggling with setups. The really experienced jammers have worked out the issues and are creating a wall of sound in a jam with their buddies. If you enter such a jam in progress, just listen to hear how the guys proceed. This can be a great listening experience. But most of these experienced jams play instruments that are directly output into their computer software, usually no vocals are present. The wall of sound drives like a fast moving train.
4. Next, there is a method to the Jammr software which hinges upon BPM and the BPI setting in a jam. This will be tricky to understand, at first. Read up in the forum about this. But basically, if I understand this, the BPI setting formats buffering of the sound. So in a 4 Bar / 4 beat music, the BPI will be 16, and Jammers can hop on the train at the beginning of the first metronome beat, but they will actually be playing with the 16 beats that had already just occurred. Anyway, it seems to work.