Search - User list
Full Version: BPM setting IS IMPORTANT !
Root » Introductions » BPM setting IS IMPORTANT !
1 2 3
WS
Hi everybody,

I'm brand new to this app. Very cool app and a lot of good players.

However, most people like and want to dive in playing so much, that they have failed to take the time to understand a fundamental about how Jammr works.

This is really important but a lot of good players have missed it and therefore end up missing the full satisfaction of being in sync properly.

Please, please, read the “sticky” in the “technical support” area,
“Sticky: Do I have to set BPM when there is a drum beat? by stefanha”

From this forum post, I learned that for any given jam, everyone needs to be playing at the set BPM in order for Jammr to sync everything up. It seems that the session BPM is running in the background as a sync clock for the session, even though you do not have to listen to it.

If you want to hear the BPM, highlight the “metronome” button.

If you have a drum beat, set the tempo on the drum machine and BPM in Jammr to the same number.

Anyone can vote for a tempo change in Jammr. If others in the jam also vote for the change, the tempo will be changed in Jammr and can then be matched to the drum beat tempo.

PLEASE read the “sticky” mentioned above. You'll be glad you did, and so will everyone else.
Music only works if all the players are in sync.

WS
captaincancel
Curious to know if playback of click source needs to be synchronized to Jammr's start time.

i.e. instead of using the built-in metronome for a click, I plan on starting a synth sequence that's in-line with the BPM/BPI requirements, say 90 BPM and 8 BPI for a 2-bar loop. Do I need to start/stop that in sync with Jammr or just having the same settings in place good enough?
julian_vickers
captaincancel