jammr Forum

Home of the jammr Community

  • You are not logged in.

#1 Oct. 25, 2020 11:48:56

JazzDave
Registered: 2020-03-19
Posts: 3
Reputation: +    -
Profile   Send e-mail  

Metronome to indicate bars/measures

For Jazz it would be useful to have the metronome indicate bars/measures instead of beats so that a whole chorus would be on screen. This would require the BPM to be divided by 4 for 4/4 time. As the minimum BPM is 40 that means the minimum real BPM is 160 - too high. I would also support the ability to mute the metronome.

Offline

#2 Oct. 27, 2020 11:09:19

stefanha
Registered: 2012-11-11
Posts: 1644
Reputation: +    -
Profile   Send e-mail  

Metronome to indicate bars/measures

Thanks, JazzDave! A new user interface is under development. One of the changes is that the metronome bar will reflect the chord progression and measures. That way the musical concepts are visible and it isn't necessary to calculate BPI based on the length of the chord progression and the time signature. This will make it much easier to understand what is going on and to play together.

Offline

#3 Oct. 28, 2020 11:26:58

JazzDave
Registered: 2020-03-19
Posts: 3
Reputation: +    -
Profile   Send e-mail  

Metronome to indicate bars/measures

Thanks stefanha. I'm sure you will appreciate that for jazz we need at least 32 measures per interval.

Offline

#4 Nov. 1, 2020 12:18:11

stefanha
Registered: 2012-11-11
Posts: 1644
Reputation: +    -
Profile   Send e-mail  

Metronome to indicate bars/measures

The maximum BPI is currently 64. As a workaround you can use 64 BPI with the tempo (BPM) halved. It will be in sync though you will only hear the metronome click on every second beat.

Raising the maximum BPI is on the todo list. In the future it will be possible to use 128 BPI.

Offline

Board footer

Moderator control

Powered by DjangoBB

Lo-Fi Version